Critical Reflection on SEM2902

This post will be regarding my reflection on SEM2902 module which focus primarily on Interpersonal and work communication.

Before coming to this course, I did not know that the non verbal cues could be a hint to what I might be feeling at this moment.This course went through the types of non verbal and I was surprised that there are so many of them.Through this course, I learn to perceive others through their verbal and non verbal communication and also how should I respond to them.

This module also requires me to do blog posts on selected topics. The weekly postings and timely feedback from lecturer and classmates enables me to reflect on the ways I structured my post. Do I have any grammar mistakes, are they interpreting my post correctly or is my idea feasible and conveying the correct message I want to send. Those questions will always pop up whenever I read the comments.

I also learn more about myself and the ways I can improve in communication. This module taught me on the ways to resolve conflicts which I find it to be useful.  No two individuals have exactly the same expectations and desires, conflict is a natural part of our interactions with others.The Thomas Kilmann conflict mode instrument is especially useful as it measure a person’s behavior in conflict situations and this enables me to select the conflict handling mode when dealing with conflicts.

I greatly appreciate what this course had taught me and with the the experience and the knowledge that I had gained, I feel I can perform better in my future presentations and avoid miscommunication with my peers.

2 thoughts on “Critical Reflection on SEM2902

  1. Thank you, Daphne, for this detailed reflection. I like the way you address very areas of your learning from the course. In particular, I’m impressed that you find useful the fact that we used blogging as a platform for discussion, and that the topic of conflict management appeared useful to you. Also, I’m happy to read that you feel you “can perform better in my future presentations and avoid miscommunication with my peers” thanks to your learning.

    I appreciate all your effort this term and wish you the best as you continue your learning journey.

    Like

Leave a comment